Sign Up Now

Share on facebook

Leonardo Academy Announces 2005 Sustainability Recognition Awards PDF Print E-mail
Press Release

MADISON, WI, NOVEMBER 15, 2005—Leonardo Academy announced today the recipients of the 2005 Leonardo Academy Sustainability Recognition Awards, recognizing green building advocates for their efforts. President Michael Arny honored awardees at Leonardo Academy’s LEED® for Existing Buildings (LEED-EB) Celebration on November 9, 2005. The event was held in conjunction with the U.S. Green Buildings Council’s (USGBC) Annual Greenbuild Conference & Expo in Atlanta, GA. Those recognized include the State of California, Stephen Ashkin of the Ashkin Group, and the USGBC LEED-EB staff.

The State of California received the Green Building Owner of the Year Award, recognizing Governor Schwarzenegger’s executive order committing to LEED implementation in state buildings. The order supports energy and water use benchmarking in all state-owned buildings, LEED for New Construction (LEED-NC) certification in all new state buildings over 10,000 square feet, and LEED-EB certification in all state buildings over 50,000 square feet.

Stephen Ashkin, President of The Ashkin Group, received the Green Building Advocate of the Year Award for his efforts in bringing green cleaning to the LEED-EB Rating System. Ashkin became a member of the USGBC’s LEED-EB Committee during the rating system development process. Through his work and advocacy, green cleaning practices and products are now recognized under LEED-EB for their contribution to healthy and sustainable indoor environments.

Finally, present and past (2000-2005) USGBC staff members were recognized as Fearless LEED-EB Leaders for their work supporting the development and implementation of the LEED® for Existing Buildings (LEED-EB) rating system, thereby expanding green building practices beyond new construction. Listed recipients include Lindsay Baker, Christine Ervin, Rick Fedrizzi, Tom Hicks, Nigel Howard, David Joseph, Ana Kaahanui, Kimberly Lewis, Sabrina Morelli, Mike Opitz, Brendan Owens, Andrea Pusey, Pegi Shriver, Peter Templeton, Maury Zimring, and Dara Zycherman.



© 2013 Leonardo Academy Inc. | PO Box 5425, Madison, Wisconsin 53705-0425 | | 608-280-0255 | Web Design | Privacy Policy